top of page

Gaming & Mental Health


Kids from the 90s, who grew up learning about technology and was introduced to gaming, didn't really go online to post TikTok videos or post images of how they were feeling. It wasn't really a thing back then. We rarely spoke about our problems because back then there was this stigma. If you talked about your feelings too much you were seen as a problem. A lot of us found solace towards gaming because it helped us ignore all of those issues we faced as teenagers and now onto adult hood. For me, when I would game with my brothers or play Runescape in my room, I was finding an escape from life. Today, our youth are trying to find positive ways to talk about mental health and are trying to change that negative stigma.

 

Gaming & Memories

I remember staying up late at night with my brother Junior and Lino trying to beat them at a game of Mario Party. Lino would always get upset when he knew he wasn't going to win. He'd purposely turn off the game after we'd spent what seemed like hours trying to get to the end. Junior would collect tons of NES and N64 games so we could have a library full of options. It wasn't until I got older when I realized I missed those moments.


Gaming for me turned into a somewhat addiction to the point where I'd spend hours locked in my room playing Runescape, since I didn't have the money for an online subscription towards World of Warcraft. After Runescape came Sims and eventually I found what games I was interested in. Junior transitioned from gaming to pursuing music where he made it his mission to educate the youth on mental health. He started rapping seriously after Lino lost his life to suicide and schizophrenia. Junior raps and I write. All I have left of Lino are my memories.


777blest Career

Image Via @777blest IG

Junior always had a passion towards rapping and after my brother died he was lost. He found solace rapping and gradually started finding his voice. He wanted to bring change to our community. His music reflects his pain, his desire wanting to bring awareness towards mental health, and his love for his family. After he had experimented with drugs, which caused him to get a seizure, he went to rehab and got clean.


His motivation and determination to change the music industry is what helped me to want to pursue my dreams. He's inspirational, with a sensational smile, that will just force you to smile with him as he performs. This captivating young man, my brother, has won the hearts from the people that listen to him. His lyrics are strong, tell stories, and makes you question what we're putting out there in the world. I love that he's different in terms of he doesn't want to rap about the same old thing, making money and getting women. He wants to rap to help people get through life when they're feeling down and he wants to bring change.


Growing up, Junior and I would have had a better relationship if we both made an effort to want to be part of each others lives. From what I can recall he picked being around friends over his family because he felt ignored. As we got older I felt distanced from him because I had my dad telling me he was using his money for drugs and he wasn't succeeding in college. That made me look at him differently. He wasn't this charming little boy anymore he was falling victim to partying and drugs. When my brother, Lino killed himself...I didn't have a reaction. I felt at peace knowing he was no no longer suffering. My brother, on the other hand, took it hard.


Junior and I rarely spoke. When I would try to ask him about his life he wouldn't reveal too much. He was making horrible decisions which made me just not want to have a relationship with him. I thought giving him space would help him to grow up. It wasn't until my mom said she found my brother on the ground after having a seizure where it really hit me. This boy needs help. I was sick and tired of my family not pushing therapy more. I was irritated at my brother and found him weak for doing drugs. Honestly, I was disgusted by all of it. I was married at the time and living my life in another city. I wanted to just focus on my marriage and maybe over time he'd get his act together.


I was right, in a sense. He solved his drug problem, but what I'm worried about for his future, is his ability to keep a steady income coming in. I want him to succeed in his music, however, I am scared he will be blinded by the dream versus reality. Every musician wants to make it. I just hope he doesn't get let down in case he doesn't make it. I want him to, I do, but I also want him to have a back up plan in case it doesn't work out. I guess why I'm writing this is because I want him to see that not only am I proud of him but I want him to know if it doesn't work out to not go down a dark path. I believe in his journey and feel he is growing up slowly but surely. Over time, I hope he can look at his choices as positives and I hope he can make it in the music industry.


Only time will tell.


To follow my brother and his rapping journey check out his IG page: @777blest


Gaming & Mental Health Today

As gamers, who identify as millennial's, we all struggle. We struggle finding a home, we struggle paying bills, we struggle expressing when we're sad. Certain games help us to unlock those feelings and makes us feel warm when we play nostalgic games. When I would come over to visit Junior I'd immediately request we play Rampage or Mario Party because I knew how happy they used to make us feel. We formed an instant connection. Even if him and I are so different in terms of personality and what we like to do, we still find ways, to bond over a classic game. I also have noticed when life starts to build up and pressure is too much I stop playing games because I get anxiety over how much I need to beat.


I can't tell you how many times I have started a game only to stop playing it because of lack of motivation. It's the reason why Horizon Forbidden West is still in the background. I'll finish it. Eventually. Just as my brother is trying to find ways to talk about mental health, I feel it makes sense, I would talk about my experience with it as well. Gamers need to start being open about why they're playing games so much. It's healthy to play games, but with my experience, I know there's a reason why I played for many hours ignoring my own health.


If you need suicide or mental health-related crisis support, or are worried about someone else, please call or text 1-800-273-8255 or visit the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline’s chat to connect with a trained crisis counselor.

197728251_10215601231224408_5387734916979246201_n.jpeg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I would say my gaming style can range from laid-back to competitive. I enjoy talking about games I'm passionate about.

​

To learn more about me click the "learn More" Button 

Have a question?

Thanks for submitting!

  • TikTok
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page